View count: 4955

History

The general public’s impression of the Department of Social Work is often limited to its function in training compassionate social workers. Yet NTU’s Department of Social Work takes a step further. Our educational objective is to cultivate students with high sensitivity to the society’s needs, who can leverage their professional skills and knowledge to realize social justice. We strive to accomplish these goals through various approaches, focusing on both theoretical research and practical involvement to address the wide range of challenges facing the underprivileged in our society.

The Department positions itself as “doers” – caring about the disadvantaged is insufficient, and one has to roll up the sleeves and work with them to solve the problems. Therefore, the Department prioritizes student empowerment to develop their capabilities of taking action and implementing solutions on the ground. We believe that “wherever the needs are, there will be social workers.” Through concrete action, we want to help solve social problems and realize social justice. Since our inception, we have trained a large number of social workers and social work practitioners, and we pride ourselves for our contribution to the social welfare development in Taiwan.
 
The Department was originally the Division of Social Work under the Department of Sociology, and we officially became a separate program responsible for our own recruitment in 1981. Finally, in 2002, the Department of Social Work was established and the core mission was defined as grooming social work practitioners through our undergraduate and graduate programs.
 
Our undergraduate program focuses on theoretical and practical training, so that the students not only learn fundamental knowledge about social work, but also gain the relevant hands-on training that can closely meet the needs of the society. All undergraduates must complete at least 400 hours of internship. Our master program is centered on advanced professional training, aiming to train professionals in the fields of social welfare administration, research and practice. The Ph.D. program bears the mission in training advanced social work and social welfare scholars, teachers and researchers.
 
To expand the international exposure of our students, NTU’s Department of Social Work has established cooperation agreements with many acclaimed social work schools abroad. We have also initiated a summer internship program with the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, in which we select top undergraduate and graduate students to work in local U.S. institutions through a rigorous screening system. These students acquire social work knowledge, and also learn about local cultures and welfare systems. All our Ph.D. students are also required to conduct short-term research studies in overseas academic institutions so as to foster global perspectives.

In addition to cultivating professional skills, the Department’s educational philosophy also strongly encourages the students to explore their interests. We train them in teamwork and problem-solving skills and in developing altruism, empathy, and social sensitivity, which are transferable to any profession they might take on in the future.

NTU’s Department of Social Work plays an indispensable role in the social work field in Taiwan. Our graduates become frontline social workers who help solve the most imminent problems at the grass-root level. We also have many graduates who work in the academic and government sector to tackle the root causes of many social problems, including numerous high-level political appointees and leaders who shoulder the development of the nation’s welfare policies. Together we are dedicated to fostering and shaping a Taiwanese society that is genuinely supportive of the lives of the underprivileged.

瀏覽人次: 4688

歷史沿革與簡介

社會大眾對社會工作系的想像,不外乎是在訓練出有愛心、富同情心的助人工作者,然而臺大社會工作學系卻不僅止於此,我們是以訓練學生「對社會需求具有高敏感度、並透過專業技巧、以求社會正義落實」為教育目標,並作為系所發展的主要方向。社工系(簡稱)創立的基礎,即在於藉著研究與實地參與,回應社會中各種弱勢族群所面臨的問題。
 
社工系將自己定位為「行動者」的角色,他們對社會中的弱勢族群不能僅止於關心,而是要捲起袖子、陪伴他們共同解決問題。因此社工系尤其重視培養學生的行動力與實作能力,我們相信,「哪裡有需求、哪兒就有社工。」社工系透過實際行動,解決社會問題,以落實社會正義。到目前為止,社工系已培養出為數眾多的社工師及社工專業領導人才,對於台灣社會福利的發展,功不可沒。

社工系原為社會學系社會工作組,1981年獲准分組招生,並於2002年正式調整成立學系,以培養社會工作專業人才為教育宗旨,設有大學部、碩士班與博士班。
 
大學部注重基礎學理訓練,除了基礎專業知識的教導外,同樣重視社會迫切需要的實務訓練,所以學生均須完成至少400小時的校外實習。社工系碩士班則以進階專業知識訓練為主,以培育知識與能力兼具的社會福利行政、研究及社會工作專業人才為目標。博士班則是以培養高階社會工作和社會政策實務工作、以及社會工作與社會福利等相關領域之教學和研究人才為主。
 
為強化學生的國際觀與經驗,社工系除了與海外多所大學社會工作學院簽定合作協議外,也與美國伊利諾大學香檳分校簽定暑期實習合作備忘錄,透過嚴格的甄選制度,讓學士班與碩士班學生到美國當地機構實習,除了學習專業知識,也藉此機會學習當地文化與福利制度。社工系博士班學生在取得博士學位前,也需前往國外學術單位進行短期研究或研習,以借鏡國際、擴展研究新視野。
 
社工系在教學中,除了專業能力的培養,也鼓勵學生能大膽探索自己的興趣,並將社工系最強調的溝通協調、團隊合作、解決問題、同理心、對社會議題的敏感度,以及利他精神等價值,帶入未來從事的任何行業中。
 
在臺灣社工界,臺大社會工作學系具有舉足輕重的地位。社工系不只在社會的最前線協助解決問題;我們更從社會問題的根本著手,推動國家政策、社工系教授先後投身公部門,擔任福利制度改革的政務官,期待創造更有利於弱勢生存的臺灣社會。